June 23, 2024

Four medalists, three champions at Class 4-1A State Wrestling in Salina

Salina, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–The 2022 Class 4-1A State Wrestling Tournament inside the Tony’s Pizza Event Center provided a lot of highlights locally in a sport that it is in its third year as a KSHSAA event. It was the first time that the girls state tournament would be a two-day tournament, and it would be the most competitive it has been to this day. Four area wrestlers would take home medals, with three taking home state championships in their weight division.

Lakin’s duo of Josiah Ortiz and Isabell Ortiz picked up state championships at 109 and 115 pounds on Thursday, as Isabell was able to repeat as a two-time state champion. Scott City, who is in their first year of girls wrestling, picked up their first-ever state champion on the mat, as MacKayla Miller took the gold in the 235-pound weight class. Ulysses freshman Maya Tarbet also made history, becoming the first medalist in girls wrestling history in Ulysses, as she won sixth place at 120 pounds. 

Pratt dominated the field as a team, winning their first wrestling title, while Hoisington was second and Columbus finished third. Lakin was fifth as a team. 

Team Scores
Pratt 111; Hoisington 67; Columbus 60; Prairie View 59; Lakin 52; Oskaloosa 50; Wellington 46; Burlington 45.5; Chanute 43; Rose Hill 38; Holton 37.5; Mulvane 37; Rossville 35; Colby 34.5; Clay Center 34; Eureka 34; Mission Valley 30; Oakley 30; Paola 30; Scott City 30; McPherson 28; Hoxie 27.5; Fort Scott 27; Santa Fe Trail 27; Douglass 26; Bluestem 26; Abilene 24; Smoky Valley 24; Baldwin 23; Augusta 22; Chapman 22; McLouth 22; Russell 22; Stockton 21.5; Buhler 20; Burlingame 20; Ellis 20; Tonganoxie 20; Circle 18; Council Grove 17; El Dorado 17; Ellsworth 17; Goodland 16; Coffeyville 14; Erie 14; Silver Lake 14; Fredonia 13; Humboldt 12; Plainville 12; Winfield 12; Ulysses 11; Independence 9; Anderson County 7; Holcomb 7; Marysville 7; Girard 6; Wellsville 6; Atchison 4; Atchison County 4; TMP-Marian 4; Osage City 4; Osawatomie 4; Haven 3.5; Chaparral 3; Norwich 3; Sabetha 3; Norton 2; Burden-Central 1; Eudora 1; Phillipsburg 1; Labette County 0; Rawlins County 0; Chase County 0; Cimarron 0; Ellinwood 0; Jefferson West 0; St. John 0; Hayden 0; Remington 0

State Medalists
Championship: Holly Thacher, Oskaloosa, won by dec over M.J. Huff, Burlington, 7-0
3rd Place: Maliyah Lopez, Burlingame, won by dec over Sheena Gocela, Hoisington, 11-8
5th Place: Elle Vinson, El Dorado, won by fall over Madison Daniels, Tonganoxie, 0:51
Championship: Josiah Ortiz, Lakin, won by dec over Leiannah Landreth, Mulvane, 5-2
3rd Place: Addison Saporito, Columbus, won by fall over Citori Bosserman, Oakley, 1:53
5th Place: Eowynn Reynard, Burlington, won by fall over Emma Hall, Coffeyville, 0:54
Josiah Oritz, Lakin

Championship: Isabell Ortiz, Lakin, won by dec over Kathie Chavez, Colby, 4-0
3rd Place: Ashlyn Hahn, Stockton, won by fall over Breanna Ross, Erie, 2:50
5th Place: Piper Robinson, Holton, won by dec over Kadynce Axelson, Chanute, 5-4
Isabell Ortiz, Lakin

Championship: Kendra Hurla, (Rossville) 39-0, So. over Jadyn Thompson (Pratt) 37-2, Jr. (Dec 3-0
3rd Place: Cadence Williamson, Bluestem, won by fall over Reese Clements, Chanute, 4:47
5th Place: Layla Tindle, Fredonia, won by dec over Maya Tarbet, Ulysses, 6-1
Maya Tarbet, Ulysses

Championship: Gabi Koppes, Clay Center, won by fall over Kailyn Younger, Paola, 1:57
3rd Place: Jill High, Augusta, won by fall over Leighanna Patz, McLouth, 1:41
5th Place: Mikayla Konrade, Winfield, won by dec over Amanda Jaeger, Colby, 5-0
Championship: Hope Blake, Mission Valley, won by fall over Keimarla Thompson, Pratt, 3:40
3rd Place: Jaden Ney, Russell, won by fall over Daijah Jones, Hoisington, 3:45
5th Place: Gabby Rusk, Fort Scott, won by dec over Gracie Gallagher, Holton, 5-4
Championship: Marissa Porsch, Hoxie, won by maj dec over Tally Wikum, Hoisington, 10-1
3rd Place: Kaitlyn Hain, Wellington,. over Brooklyn Lima, Columbus, 1:21
5th Place: Makaylae Rusk, Fort Scott, won by dec over Zoe Brown, Plainville, 9-3
Championship: Livia Swift, Pratt, won by dec over Katelyn Schmidt, Circle, 6-1
3rd Place: Sadie Walker, Holton, won by dec over Lyndsey Escareno, Eureka, 9-8
5th Place: Kaydawn Haag, Ellis, won by fall over Jailyn Rodriguez, Columbus, 1:46
Championship: Allison King, Oskaloosa, won by fall over Alyssa Page, Prairie View, 5:36
3rd Place: Jewella Cokeley, Douglass, won by fall over Destiny Gonzalez, Goodland, 2:57
5th Place: Kammie Schanz, Mulvane, won by fall over Skylee Dodd, Eureka, 2:13
Championship: Kylee Eastwood, Prairie View, won by fall over Grace Johns, Chapman, 6:59
3rd Place: Brooklynne Page, Rose Hill, won by fall over Jolie Ziegler, Council Grove, 1:42
5th Place: Sierra Lanning, Ellsworth, won by fall over Atavia Cain, Oakley, 2:51
Championship: Ava Thompson, Pratt, won by dec over Lyndsey Buechman, Abilene, 6-3
3rd Place: Emilie Schweizer, Buhler, won by fall over Payton Sholander, Rose Hill, 1:24
5th Place: Madi Tolle, Smoky Valley, won by fall over Elizabeth White, Humboldt, 2:34
Championship: MacKayla Miller, Scott City, won by fall over Averie Burns, Wellington, 2:42
3rd Place: Ciara Rawson, McPherson, won by fall over Sierra Dempsey, Santa Fe Trail, 0:56
5th Place: Madi Hargett, Baldwin, won by fall over Whitley Cox-Halliburton, Prairie View, 3:43
MacKayla Miller, Scott City