June 15, 2024

Hoisington takes 4-1A Regional; seven area wrestlers punch ticket to Salina

Hoisington, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–Saturday began the first of postseason wrestling, as 31 schools competed at the Class 4-1A Regional Wrestling Tournament held at the Hoisington Activity Center. 

Hoisington would be a repeat regional champion, as the Lady Cardinals qualified six wrestlers, en route to winning the tournament with 107.5 points. Oakley pushed four wrestlers into state and finished second with 78 points, while Ellis was third with 68 points and qualified three wrestlers. Scott City was fifth and qualified three wrestlers, while Lakin was 14th with two state qualifiers, Wichita County qualified their first wrestler in school history and finished 17th, and Holcomb qualified a wrestler, and finished in 19th place.

There were four regional champions from the area, as Wichita County’s Jentri Porter won the 105-pound class, Lakin’s Josiah Ortiz was the champion at 115, and Scott City had two regional champions, as Johnna Sowers won the 155-pound weight class and MacKayla Miller was the champion at 235 pounds.

Winning the Regional Coach of the Year was Oakley’s Bryce Lewis and Clay Center’s Gabi Koppes won the Regional Outstanding Wrestler award.

State Qualifiers will compete at the Class 4-1A State Tournament at Salina’s Tony’s Pizza Event Center February 22-23.

Team Scores
Hoisington 107.5; Oakley 78; Ellis 68; Colby 66; Scott City 63; Stockton 59; Goodland 53; Trego 53; Norton 52; Plainville 46; Hill City 40; Clay Center 38; Larned 36; Lakin 34; St. Francis 29; Russell 26; Wichita County 22; TMP-Marian 21; Holcomb 20; Quinter 20; Minneapolis 17.5; Hoxie 17; Phillpsburg 15; Ellsworth 14, Rawlins County 13; Oberlin 13; Ell-Saline 10; Republic County 5; Osborne 5; Ellinwood 4; Greeley County 0

State Qualifiers
Championship: Carolina Northup, Stockton, won by fall over Gabrielle Meyer, Hoxie, :48
3rd Place: Erica Will, Ell Saline, won by fall over Bailey George, Hoisington, 2:44 
Championship: Jentri Porter, Wichita County, won by fall over Alissa Cowing, Clay Center
3rd Place: Abigail Heifner, Ellis, won by fall over Lorelei Grandberry, Norton, 2:07
Jentri Porter, Wichita County

Championship: Citori Bosserman, Oakley, won by fall over Liliana McKenna, Larned, 5:47
3rd Place: Callie Priest, Ellis, won by fall over Kyra Sowers, Oberlin, 3:45
Championship: Josiah Ortiz, Lakin, won by dec over Adrian Wynn, Trego, 2-0
3rd Place: Jaylee Santana, Holcomb, won by fall over Cheyenne LaBarge, St. Francis, :21
Josiah Ortiz, Lakin

Jaylee Santana, Holcomb

Championship: Ashlyn Hahn, Stockton, won by fall over Kiana Grandclair, Hoisington, 3:12
3rd Place: Reese Watkins, Larned, won by dec over Mikayaka Cain, Oakley, 3-0
Championship: Gabi Koppes, Clay Center, won by dec over Kathie Chavez, Colby, 9-4
3rd Place: Caxton Smyth, Plainville, won by fall over Abbygayl Jackson, Oakley, 4:45
Championship: Amanda Jaeger, Colby, won by maj dec over Daijah Jones, Hoisington, 13-1
3rd Place: Isabella Keesee, Phillipsburg, won by maj dec over Madison Siegfried, St. Francis, 14-6
Championship: Jaden Ney, Russell, won by fall over Cali Wagoner, Quinter, 1:37
3rd Place: Ashlyn Pazdernik, Scott City, won by fall over Ivy Davis, Lakin, :50
Ashlyn Pazdernik, Scott City

Ivy Davis, Lakin

Championship: Kaydawn Haag, Ellis, won by dec over Tally Wikum, Hoisingotn, 7-1
3rd Place: Ella Normadin, Plainville, won by fall over Claudine Stein, TMP-Marian, 1:45
Championship: Destiny Gonzalez, Goodland, won by dec over Lyrica Orosco, Hoisington, 5-4
3rd Place: Zoe Brown, Plainville, won by dec over Mya Mattheyer, Trego, 7-5
Championship: Johnna Sowers, Scott City, won by dec over Kaley Logue, Trego, 4-2
3rd Place: Hadyn Blochlinger, Goodland, won by fall over Evie Vance, Norton, 1:16
Johnna Sowers, Scott City

Championship: Atavia Cain, Oakley, won by fall over Grace Johns, Minneapolis, 4:43
3rd Place: Kenya Goss, Norton won by dec over Riley Rodriguez, Ellsworth, 2-1
Championship: Lilliana Spino, Hill City, won by inj def over Tessa Hill, Colby, 4:10
3rd Place: Cadence Greeson, Norton, won by fall over Rivver Long, Stockton, 4:17
Championship: MacKayla Miller, Scott City, won by fall over Gracie Penrod, Hill City, 2:54
3rd Place: Amerie Hinz, Hoisington, won by fall over Emma Belleau, Norton, :26
MacKayla Miller, Scott City