July 12, 2024

Chanute takes 4-1A State Title; Two area wrestlers win individual gold

Salina, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–As the sport of girls wrestling continues to grow, so does the competitiveness of the sport in the state of Kansas. The Class 4-1A State Wrestling tournament inside the Tony’s Pizza Events Center showed that rankings were just that. 

Chanute, who entered as the fourth ranked team, would have a solid consolation side of the bracket, and clinched the team title before the finals. Rossville would take second and Baldwin finished in third place. Defending state champion Pratt tied for fourth. Scott City was the top area team with a 13th place tie.

There would be four placers, two who claimed state championships. Both state champions would win their second straight title. Josiah Ortiz from Lakin was able to withstand Rossville’s Keera Lacock in the finals, while Scott City’s MacKayla Miller capped an undefeated season with a win over Santa Fe Trail’s Sierra Dempsey. 

Two other placers from the area included Wichita County’s Jentri Porter, who became the school’s first girls state placer, as she took fourth place. Scott City’s Johnna Sowers was a fourth place finisher.

Team Scores
Chanute 88; Rossville 73; Baldwin 70; Santa Fe Trail 66; Pratt 66; Hoisington 64.5; Columbus 61; Buhler 53; Oskaloosa 52; Winfield 49; Mulvane 47; Smoky Valley 46; Scott City 44; Tonganoxie 44; Oakley 43; Fort Scott 41; Girard 36; Stockton 35; Burlington 34; Goodland 33; Chapman 32; Clay Center 32; Ellis 32; Colby 29.5; Minneapolis 29; Cherryvale 28; Marysville 27; Wellington 26; Augusta 25; El Dorado 25; Lakin 25; Wellsville 25; Russell 24; Bluestem 23; Rose Hill 23; Rock Creek 21; Chaparral 20; Erie 20; McPherson 20; Paola 19; Plainville 19; Atchison County 16; Eureka 16; Fredonia 16; Phillipsburg 16; Douglass 14; Chase County 13; Quinter 13; Sabetha 13; Holton 12; Wichita County 12; Caney Valley 11; Larned 10; Cimarron 8; Hill City 8; Burden-Central 6; Coffeyville 6; Eudora 6; Fairfield 6; Norton 6; Wabaunsee 5; Lyons 5; Halstead 4; Prairie View 4; McLouth 4; Trego 4; Remington 4; Abilene 3; Labette County 3; Council Grove 3; Hoxie 3; Jefferson West 3; Silver Lake 3; St. Francis 3; Hayden 3; Independence 1; Ell-Saline 0; Burlingame 0; Cherokee-Southeast 0; Clearwater 0; Ellsworth 0; TMP-Marian 0; Holcomb 0; Medicine Lodge 0; Nickerson 0; Oberlin 0; Circle 0; 

State Placers
Championship: Sheena Gocela, Winfield, won by fall over Grace Noel, Columbus, 2:33
3rd Place: Trinity Motter, El Dorado, won by dec over Audry Johnson, Santa Fe Trail, 5-1
5th Place: Carolina Northup, Stockton, won by fall over Morgan Base, Baldwin, 3:28
Championship: Holly Thatcher, Oskaloosa, won by dec over Kimber Crabbs, Buhler, 2-1
3rd Place: Payton Burton, Bluestem, won by fall over Jentri Porter, Wichita County, 1:24
5th Place: Hannah Selle, Winfield, won by dec over Brianna Mitchell, Baldwin, 3-1
Jentri Porter, Wichita County

Championship: Alyssa Calovich, Chapman, won by dec over Breanna Ross, Erie, 2-1
3rd Place: Citori Bosserman, Oakley, won by maj dec over Kenna Miles, Fort Scott, 11-1
5th Place: Kinzie Rogers, Chase County, won by dec over Ryleigh Page, Rose Hill, 8-2
Championship: Josiah Ortiz, Lakin, won by dec over Keera Lacock, Rossville, 7-3
3rd Place: Leiannah Landreth, Mulvane, won by fall over Layla Tindle, Fredonia, 2:20

5th Place: Tye Rozell, Douglass, won by dec over Kenzie Crain, Smoky Valley, 8-2
Josiah Ortiz, Lakin

Championship: Kendra Hurla, Rossville, won by dec over Addison Saporito, Columbus, 9-5
3rd Place: Kiana Grandclair, Hoisington, won by dec over Ashlyn Hahn, Stockton, 2-1
5th Place: Kadynce Axelson, Chanute, won by fall over Reese Watkins, Larned, 1:52
Championship: Gabi Koppes, Clay Center, won by dec over Jill High, Augusta, 7-4
3rd Place: Reese Clements, Chanute, won by fall over Hanna Bailey, Girard, :42
5th Place: Caxtyn Smyth, Plainville, won by Olive Dubois, Wellsville, TB-1 2-1
Championship: Amanda Jaeger, Colby, won by maj dec over Brooklyn Burenheide, Rock Creek, 12-2
3rd Place: Jadyn Thompson, Pratt, won by dec over Isabella Keesee, Phillipsburg, 6-1
5th Place: Daijah Jones, Hoisington, won by fall over Lainey Farley, Wellsville, 2:03
Championship: Kiera Mullen, Smoky Valley, won by fall over Jayden Ney, Russell, 3:46
3rd Place: Zoey Kessler, Cherryvale, won by fall over Wendy Candia, Pratt, 2:18
5th Place: Cali Wagoner, Quinter, won by fall over Nakita Lawrence, Sabetha, 2:52
Championship: Kaydawn Haag, Ellis, won by fall over Audrey Darnell, Baldwin, 5:24
3rd Place: Keimarla Thompson, Pratt, won by fall over Lyndsey Escareno, Eureka, 4:05
5th Place: Tally Wickum, Hoisingotn, won by forfeit over Katelyn Schmidt, Circle
Championship: Kammie Schanz, Mulvane, won by dec over Destiny Gonzalez, Goodland, SV-1 5-3
3rd Place: Hailee Crosland, Santa Fe Trail, won by fall over Ella Johnson, Marysville, 3:32
5th Place: Lyrica Orosco, Hoisington, won by fall over Taylor Plumley, Cherryvale, 2:41
Championship: Allison King, Oskaloosa, won by fall over Brinly Bancroft, Chanute, 3:15
3rd Place: Hailey Horton, Rossville, won by fall over Johnna Sowers, Scott City, 4:28
5th Place: Rose Latta, Marysville, won by dec over Hadyn Blochlinger, Goodland, 9-5
Johnna Sowers, Scott City

Championship: Gracie Johns, Minneapolis, won by fall over Atavia Cain, Oakley, 3:29
3rd Place: Kylie Dillow, Chanute, won by dec over Hannah Simmers, Atchison County, 5-0
5th Place: Grace Stean, Tonganoxie, won by fall over Brylie Schaub, Fort Scott, 2:42
Championship: Emilie Schweizer, Buhler, won by fall over Aubrey Hunt, Wellington, 5:17
3rd Place: Holly Colvert, Tonganoxie, won by fall over Johanna Carrasco, Burlington, :31
5th Place: Kara Pope, Girard, won by fall over Payton Sholander, Rose Hill, 1:43
Championship: MacKayla Miller, Scott City, won by dec over Sierra Dempsey, Santa Fe Trail, 4-2
3rd Place: Kena Leonard, Paola, won by dec over Madi Hargett, Baldwin, 5-2
5th Place: Ciara Rawson, McPherson, won by fall over Makietta Macias, Chaparral, 2:23
MacKayla Miller, Scott City