May 26, 2024

Scott City wins state championship; three area state champions are crowned

Hays, Kan. (–When Scott City won their last state championship in 2012, they only took six wrestlers to state. This year, Scott City also took six wrestlers to state. Just like 2012, it turned into a winning weekend for the Beavers. Scott City placed just four, but scored enough in the end to claim their fifth state championship in program history. Just like in 2012, the Beavers didn’t have to hit the century mark in points. This year, the Class 3-2-1A State Champion Scott City squad’s 98.5 points was just enough again, although it was a little closer this time around.

While it wasn’t easy, a Wyatt Hayes win for Scott City in the finals all but secured an outright title. Hoisington needed a fall in their last match to tie the Beavers in the team standings. It was a regular decision for the Cardinal, and Scott City’s last two wrestlers were able to wrestle without the pressure. The Beavers won by six points over Hoisington and Hoxie took home third place.

Scott City would end up with two state champions and four overall placers. Justus McDaniel at 126 and Wyatt Hayes at 170 were individual champions, while Kaden Wren finished second at 132 and Jarret Jurgens closed out his career as a third place finisher. Coach Jon Lippelmann was named the Coach of the Year.

Cimarron was able to place two over the weekend. Josh Seabolt repeated as tournament champion at 195, while Dylan Newton finished in fourth place over the weekend at 182.

Lakin also had to medalists. Johnney Perez closed out his career with a fourth place finish at 145, and Hadley Panzer was third at 285.

Team Scores
Scott City 98.5, Hoisington 92.5, Hoxie 88.5, Smith Center 76.5, Silver Lake 64, Norton 63, Colby 57.5, Eureka 55.5, Phillipsburg 54, Goodland 53, Wabuaunsee 51, Marion 49, Riley County 48, Rossville 48, Cimarron 45, Minneapolis 44, Riverside 42, Plainville 40.5,  Wellsville 39, Hill City 35.5, Chaparral 35, Lakin 34, Beloit 30, Fredonia 30, St. Mary’s 27.5, Sabetha 27, Oberlin 25.5, Osborne 25, Caney Valley 23, Oskaloosa 15, Ell-Saline 22, St. Francis 19, Republic County 18.5, Douglass 16, SE of Saline 16, Doniphan West 16, Russell 16, Rawlins County 15, Oskaloosa 15, Rock Hills 12, Ellsworth 11, Lyons 11, Pleasant Ridge 10, Mission Valley 10, Chase County 9, Perry-Lecompton 8, Humboldt 7, Bluestem 7, Trego 6, Remington 6, Oakley 5.5, Bennington 5, Ellis 5, Jayhawk-Linn 5, Cherryvale 4,  Royal Valley 4, Wichita County 4, Osage City 4, Uniontown 4, St. John’s Military 4, White City 3, Central Heights 2, Sterling 2, Atchison County 1, Brewster 0, Burlingame 0, Council Grove 0, Garden Plain 0, Hesston 0, Hillsboro 0, West Elk 0, Norwich 0, Flint Hills 0, Sylvan Grove 0

Final Placings
Championship: Kendall Beitz, Eureka, won by dec over Alec Segara, Hill City, 8-6 OT
3rd Place: Rathe Aschenbrenner Colby, won by dec over Aaron Lenker, Phillipsburg, 9-2
5th Place: Colton Shoemaker, Smith Center, won by fall over Trevor Ragland, Pleasant Ridge, 0:53

Finals: Kolby Beitz, Eureka, won by maj dec over Ryan Ware, Wellsville, 12-4
3rd Place: Kai Allen, Silver Lake, won by dec over Ashten Dodson, Douglass, 1-0
5th Place: Zack Sherman, Hoxie, Sr. won by fall over Austin Roth, Minneapolis,  0:37

Finals: Hunter Jacob Sisson, Phillipsburg, won by dec over Hunter Redick, Fredonia, 3-2 UTB
3rd Place: Anthony King, St. Marys, won by dec over Blayne Harris, Beloit, 4-3
5th Place: Dylan Weimer, Hoxie, won by tech fall over Kaleb Talkington, Republic County, 16-0

Finals: Justus McDaniel, Scott City won by dec over Jordan Priddy, Silver Lake, 9-4
3rd Place: Kel Grafel, Oberlin, Sr. won by dec over Ethan Ewing, Wellsville, 13-6
5th Place: Chandler Schoenberger, Russell, won by dec over Benaiah Rundus, Republic County, 4-3

Justus McDaniel, Scott City

Finals: Riley Tubbs, Wabaunsee, won by dec over Kaden Wren, Scott City, 5-0
3rd Place: Ryan Johnson, Norton, won by maj dec over Josh Lenker, Phillipsburg, 11-1
5th Place: Jaden Atwood, Smith Center, won by dec over Chris Goans, Lyons, 5-2

Kaden Wren, Scott City


Finals: Kolby Drogemaier, Wabaunsee, won by dec over Luke Richard, Riley County, 3-2
3rd Place: Dawson Ensign, Goodland, won by fall over Zane Stanton, Caney Valley, 3:54
5th Place: Tanner Cassity, Hoisington, won by fall over Matt Weilert, Fredonia, 2:07

Finals: Dayton Porsch, Hoxie, won by fall over Scott Resler, Riverside, 3:06
3rd Place: Spencer Heise, Osborne, won by dec over Johhney Perez, Lakin, 5-2
5th Place: Ethan Hamel, Hill City, Sr. over Isaiah Mason, Oberlin, 1:46

Johhney Perez, Lakin

Finals: Christopher Ball, Hoisington, won by dec over Colton Hutchinson, Smith Center, 3-0
3rd Place: Sean Rall, Colby, won by dec over Zane Colson, Rock Hills, 7-5
5th Place: Rudy Rodriguez, SE Of Saline, won by dec over Scott Kuder, Minneapolis, 9-6

Finals: Isaiah Luellen, Rossville, won by maj dec over Jordan Finnesy, Plainville, 12-4
3rd Place: Jarret Jurgens, Scott City, won by maj dec over Zeb Speer, Doniphan West, 8-0
5th Place: Cole Amlong, Norton, won by dec over Joshua Ball, Hoisington, 10-5

Jarret Jurgens, Scott City

Finals: Wyatt Hayes, Scott City, won by dec over Gable Howerton, Silver Lake, 2-1
3rd Place: Sean Urban, Hoisington, won by dec over Kory Finley, Colby, UTB 3-2
5th Place: Zac Schneider, Ellsworth, won by dec over Maverick Green, Rawlins County, 5-3

Wyatt Hayes, Scott City

Finals: Wyatt Pedigo, Hoisington, won by dec over  Tyson Villalpando, Minneapolis, 3-2
3rd Place: Mikey Waggoner, Riley County, won by dec over Dylan Newton, Cimarron, 6-2
5th Place: Tevin Petrie, Norton, won by dec over Jared Miller, Oskaloosa, 8-2

Dylan Newton, Cimarron

Finals: Josh Seabolt, Cimarron, won by dec over Tyler Palic, Marion, 5-4
3rd Place: Nick Davenport, Ell Saline, won by fall over Hayden Wiltfong, Norton, 1:34
5th Place: Ryan Junkermeier, Plainville, won by forfeit over Colben Dodson, Cherryvale

Josh Seabolt, Cimarron

Finals: Chris Cox, Hoxie, won by dec over Luis Ledesma, Goodland, 8-6
3rd Place: Trayton Doyle, St. Francis, won by dec over Charlie Nordquist, Marion, 1-0
5th Place: Adrian Gerber, Chaparral, won by dec over Dillon Dunn, Trego, 5-2

Finals: Elliott Strahm, Sabetha, won by dec over Avery Hawkins, Smith Center, 6-1 OT
3rd Place: Hadley Panzer, Lakin, won by fall over Jaden Eslinger, Chaparral 3:44
5th Place: Reyes Bustillos, Goodland, won by dec over Jarret McLinden, Marion, 1-0

Hadley Panzer, Lakin


Scott City Coach Jon Lippelmann