February 22, 2024

Scott City sweeps 38th Scott City Wrestling Classic titles

Scott City, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–As the wrestling season hits the midway point, 14 schools made their way to Scott City on Saturday for the 38th Annual Scott City Wrestling Classic. 

It would be a good day for many of the area wrestlers, as the Scott City wrestling teams would take the team titles. Scott City’s boys would claim their fourth straight tournament title with 238 points, while Ulysses was second with 174. The Lady Beavers won their second tournament in as many weeks, as they had 154, while Goodland was second with 76 points.

On the boys side, Scott City would get tournament titles from Evan Fry at 113 pounds, Collin McDaniel at 150 and Tanner Gooden at 215 pounds. Ulysses had three tournament champions, with Sebastian Heredia taking the 126-pound weight class, while Jaxsen Salinas at 132 and Braysen Salinas were champions for the Tigers at 138. Hugoton had two tournament champions, as Isaiah Peachey won the tournament at 106 as the eight-seed, and Adam Mendoza was the winner at 157. Alex Robles won the 120-pound weight class for Lakin, and Wichita County’s Wyatt Gardner was the 144-pound winner. 

The Lady Beavers would get tournament wins from Ashlyn Pazdernik at 135, Dayanara Jimenez at 140, Johnna Sowers at 155, Lidia Alfonso at 170 and MacKayla Miller at 190-235. Wichita County’s Jentri Porter was the tournament winner at 100-105 pounds, and Josiah Ortiz from Lakin took the 115-pound weight class. 

Outstanding Wrestler winners were Mason Hernandez from Goodland on the boys side and Lakin’s Josiah Ortiz for the girls. Lakin’s Javion Granado had the fastest fall at seven seconds on the boys, while Lidia Alfonso for Scott City had the fastest fall for the girls at 18 seconds.

Team Scores
Scott City 238; Ulysses 174; Liberal 136; Rawlins County 109; St. Francis 109; Hugoton 95; Goodland 93; Lakin 82; Russell 75; Wichita County 72.5; Oakley 53; Scott City X 52; Holcomb 42.5; Cimarron 42; Holly, CO 40 

Top Four Placers
Championship: Isaiah Peachey, Hugoton, won by dec over Seth Tumbleson, St. Francis, 7-2
3rd Place: Julian Orantia, Liberal, won by maj dec over Cauy Bosserman, Oakley, 8-0

113 (Round Robin)
1. Evan Fry, Scott City; 2. Kike Yanez, St. Francis; 3. Brian Casas, Liberal; 4. Kamdyn Moore, Scott City X
Evan Fry, Scott City

Championship: Alex Robles, Lakin, won by tech fall over Waylon Ricker, Scott City, 18-3
3rd Place: Roman Romero, Ulysses, won by dec over Eli Holle, Rawlins County, SV-1, 4-2
Alex Robles, Lakin

Championship: Sebastian Heredia, Ulysses, won by fall over Shane Todd, St. Francis, 5:25
3rd Place: Cayden Couchman, Scott City X, won by dec over Tyler Roberts, Scott City, 8-7
Sebastian Heredia, Ulysses

Championship: Jaxsen Salinas, Ulysses, won by dec over Ryan Sramek, Rawlins County, 6-4
3rd Place: Octavio Gonzalez, Goodland, won over Gregery Martinez, Holcomb, No Contest (Martinez five-match limit)

Championship: Braysen Salinas, Ulysses, won by dec over Alex Rodriguez, Scott City, 6-3
3rd Place: Landyn Plummer, Oakley, won over Kade John, Scott City X, No Contest (John five-match limit)

Championship: Wyatt Gardner, Wichita County, won by dec over Tommy McClure, Liberal, 6-0
3rd Place: Cesar Peregrino, Scott City, won by dec over Dodge Fromholtz, St. Francis, 4-3
Wyatt Gardner, Wichita County

Championship: Collin McDaniel, Scott City, won by dec over Javion Granado, Lakin, 7-0
3rd Place: Holden Kite, Cimarron, won by dec over Aidan Schwindt, Liberal, 5-2
Collin McDaniel, Scott City

Championship: Adam Mendoza, Hugoton, won by fall over Brayden Suchy, Russell, 5:07
3rd Place: Kyan Ensign, Goodland, won over Blaze Gossman, Scott City, No Contest (Gossman five-match limit)
Adam Mendoza, Hugoton

Championship: Drew Withington, Rawlins County, won by maj dec over Houston Frank, Scott City, 10-2
3rd Place: Teagan Pfeifer, Russell, won by dec over Elias Anguiano, Ulysses, 5-2

Championship: Mason Hernandez, Goodland, won by fall over Jacob Irwin, Scott City, 1:37
3rd Place: Daniel Tinoco, Hugoton, won over Jacob Cutshall, Liberal, No Contest (Cutshall five-match limit)

Championship: Trystian Juarez, Liberal, won by fall over Justin Degolado, Ulysses, 3:27
3rd Place: Maverick Spresser, Goodland, won by fall over Cael Nordyke, Holly, 4:11

Championship: Tanner Gooden, Scott City, won by dec over Dravin Chavira, Lakin, 8-7
3rd Place: Carmelo Orozco, Ulysses, won by maj dec over Ivan Jirak, Oakley, 12-3
Tanner Gooden, Scott City

285 (Round Robin)
1. Ttreyquez Dinkins, Liberal; 2. Trevor Biermann, Wichita County; 3. Brayden Helton, St. Francis

Team Scores
Scott City 154; Goodland 76; St. Francis 67; Cimarron 62; Holcomb 60; Lakin 50; Liberal 43; Rawlins County 27; Oakley 22; Wichita County 20; Hugoton 9

Top Four Placers
100-105 (Round Robin)
1. Jentri Porter, Wichita County; 2. Veronica Greene, Cimarron; 3. Ariel Rickard, Goodland; 4. Luna Vazquez, Lakin
Jentri Porter, Wichita County

Championship: Josiah Ortiz, Lakin, won by maj dec over Jaylee Santana, Holcomb, 10-0
3rd Place: Cheyenne LaBarge, St. Francis, won by fall over Brooklynn Gossman, Scott City, 4:44
Josiah Ortiz, Lakin

120 (Round Robin)
1. Kimberly Ramirez, Liberal; 2. Breck Lohr, St. Francis; 3. Joselyn McCain, Rawlins County; 4. Paola Mendoza, Scott City

125 (Round Robin)
1. Abbygayl Jackson, Oakley; 2. Audrey Schwartz, Scott City; 3. Avery Jensen, St. Francis; 4. Danica Dautel, Goodland

130 (Round Robin)
1. Madison Seigfried, St. Francis; 2. Faridis Davis, Holcomb; 3. Sarah Peters, Lakin

135 (Round Robin)
1. Ashlyn Pazdernik, Scott City; 2. Tatum Brown, Scott City; 3. Zoey Jantz, Cimarron; 4. Lesly Dominguez, Goodland
Ashlyn Pazdernik, Scott City

140 (Round Robin)
1. Dayanara Jimenez, Scott City; 2. Jay Doty, Rawlins County; 3. Karime Aguilar, Cimarron
Dayanara Jimenez, Scott City

145 (Round Robin)
1. Destiny Gonzalez, Goodland; 2. Rian Rodriguez, Holcomb; 3. Madison Newton, Cimarron; 4. Brodi Speer, Scott City

155 (Round Robin)
1. Johnna Sowers, Scott City; 2. Hadyn Blochlinger, Goodland; 3. Triniti McPhail, Cimarron; 4. Amanda Farm, Hugoton

170 (Round Robin)
1. Lidia Alfonso, Scott City; 2. Kadence Allen, Scott City; 3. Rosa Pablo, Liberal; 4. Jimena Valles, Liberal
Lidia Alfonso, Scott City

190-235 (Round Robin)
1. MacKayla Miller, Scott City; 2. Ingrid Padilla, Liberal
MacKayla Miller, Scott City