February 22, 2024

Oakley rallies to win Scott City regional; nine area girls qualify for state

Scott City, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–The Scott Community Events Center was host to 34 schools, over 200 wrestlers and over 300 matches, for the 2024 Class 4-1A Regional Wrestling Tournament on Saturday. Several area schools would see their teams qualify at least one wrestler for the state tournament in Salina on February 22-24.

Oakley’s last round would be a big one, as the Lady Plainsmen would rally to top Colby for the regional championshp. Colby finished in second and Hoisington was third. 

From the area, nine area wrestlers qualified for state, as Lakin would qualify the most with three. The Lady Broncs had Luna Vazquez at 105, Ivy Davis at 135 and Ileana Robles at 190. Cimarron had two qualifiers with Veronica Greene at 105 and Zoey Jantz at 140. Holcomb qualified McKenzie Simon at 135, Scott City’s Haylie McDaniel qualified at 105, Wichita County’s Jentri Porter at 105, and Stanton County qualified their first wrestler in school history at 170 pounds with Lauren Canny. 

The KWCA Outstanding Wrestler for the region was Russell’s Jayden Ney at 145 pounds and the KWCA Regional Coach of the Year was Plainville’s Luke Wise. 

Team Scores
Oakley 117; Colby 112.5; Hoisington 105; Larned 94; Plainville 85; Ellis 78; Trego 71.5; Scott City 68; Lakin 64; Stockton 63; Russell 62; Norton 60; Rawlins County 53.5; St. Francis 52.5; Cimarron 50; Goodland 50; Holcomb 37; Phillipsburg 34; Wichita County 33; Osborne 22; Ellinwood 21; Hoxie 20; Oberlin 18; Northern Valley 16; Smith Center 16; Ulysses 16; Stanton County 15; Hill City 14; Ellsworth 12; St. John 4; Hugoton 3; Fairfield 3; Stafford 0; Greeley County 0

State Qualifiers
Championship: Carolina Northup, Stockton, won by dec over Aspen Sharpe, Colby, 5-1
3rd Place: Kaeleigh Klein, Plainville, won by fall over Teagan Walker, Larned, 1:58
Championship: Veronica Greene, Cimarron, won by dec over Jentri Porter, Wichita County, 2-1
3rd Place: Haylie McDaniel, Scott City, won by dec over Luna Vazquez, Lakin, 10-4
Veronica Greene, Cimarron

Jentri Porter, Wichita County

Haylie McDaniel, Scott City

Luna Vazquez, Lakin

Championship: Liliana McKenna, Larned, won by dec over Kyra Sowers, Oberlin, 14-10
3rd Place: Callie Priest, Ellis, won by fall voer Cora DeGood, Colby, 2:25
Championship: Kylee Hodges, Oakley, won by dec over Kallan Rothchild, Trego, 5-1
3rd Place: Cheyenne LaBarge, St. Francis, won by maj dec over Mya Trevino, Russell, 12-1
Championship: Cara Herbert, Larned, won by fall over Maggie Holle, Rawlins County, 1:58
3rd Place: Adrian Wynn, Trego, won by fall over Madison Siegfried, St. Francis, :20
Championship: Ashlyn Hahn, Stockton won by fall voer Josie Bell, Hoxie, 1:50
3rd Place: Reese Watkins, Larned, won by fall voer Kinsey Zorn, Russell, 1:19
Championship: Amanda Jaeger, Colby, won by maj dec over Daijah Jones, Hoisington, 12-3
3rd Place: Abbygayl Jackson, Oakley, won by fall over Isabella Keesee, Phillipsburg, 4:22
Championship: Maleah Vine, Ellis, won by fall over McKenzie Simon, Holcomb, 1:22
3rd Place: Ivy Davis, Lakin, won by fall over Morgan Hills, Colby, 1:32
McKenzie Simon, Holcomb

Ivy Davis, Lakin

Championship: Kaydawn Haag, Ellis, won by dec over Destiny Gonzalez, Goodland, 8-6
3rd Place: Zoey Jantz, Cimarron, won by fall over Jay Doty, Rawlins County, 1:52
Zoey Jantz, Cimarron

Championship: Jaden Ney, Russell, won by fall over Lyrica Orosco, Russell, 2:54
3rd Place: Zoe Brown, Plainville, won by fall voer Xavia Brenn, Rawlins County, 1:24
Championsip: Cali Wagoner, Oakley, won by dec over Lillian Garcia, Plainville, 8-1
3rd Place: Mya Mattheyer, Trego, won by Johnna Ebner, Phillipsburg, 1:44
Championship: Atavia Cain, Oakley, won by maj dec over Nevaeh Graves, Hoisington, 11-2
3rd Place: Daynah Bailey, Northern Valley, won by fall ove Lauren Canny, Stanton County, 2:31
Lauren Canny, Stanton County

Championship: Ileana Robles, Lakin, won by fall over Brooke Smith, Oakley, 5:18
3rd Place: Caydance Carter, Plainville, won by fall over Kacee Herredsberg, Smith Center, 2:14
Ileana Robles, Lakin

Championship: Kenya Goss, Norton, won by fall over Haylee Holinde, Hoisington, 3:44
3rd Place: Gracie Penrod, Hill City, won by fall over Emma Hahn, Ellinwood, 2:04