May 21, 2024

GCHS Drama Department Nominated For 18 Jester Awards

The Garden City High School drama department has received word that the Music Theatre of Wichita has announced their nominees for their 17th Annual Jester Awards.  Garden City High School was nominated for a total of 18 Jester Awards for the fall musical In the Heights, which performed on November 10th, 11th, and 12th in the Garden City High School Auditorium.

Nominations for GCHS include:

  • Overall Production
  • Direction of Show – Barbara Hilt
  • Leading Actress – Kimberly Loya, senior, as Nina
  • Leading Actor – Colten May, senior, as Benny
  • Leading Actor – Johb Silva, sophomore, as Usnavi
  • Supporting Actress – Monica Aguilar, sophomore, as Daniela
  • Supporting Actress – Elena Lopez, senior, as  Abuela Claudia
  • Ensemble/Chorus
  • Vocal Music Direction – Andie Alvarado
  • Artistic Guest – Kimberly Cano for Choreography
  • Stage Crew
  • Technical Achievement – AJ Ramirez (Scenic and Costume Design)
  • Scenic Design – Barbara Hilt, Alice Hilt, and Kaci Bunch
  • Costume Design – Robyn Hilt
  • Lighting Design – Barbara Hilt, Alice Hilt
  • Sound Design – Barbara Hilt, Lyle Sobba, and Francisco Becerril
  • Graphic Design – AJ Ramirez
  • Lobby Display – Alice Hilt and Delaney DeSpain

The Jester Award program recognizes the extraordinary amount of work, creativity, and dedication that faculty and students put into their high school theatrical productions. The accolades program showcases the next generation of musical theatre talent in Kansas.  Each year, trained volunteer judges attend and evaluate dozens of performances. This year, 102 judges viewed 127 performances of 41 productions, involving more than 2800 students and 41 schools across the state of Kansas. The program began in Wichita, but now extends as far as Liberal, Hays, Salina, and Pittsburg, in addition to the greater Wichita area.

The Jester Awards Ceremony will take place at Century II Performing Arts Center’s Convention Hall in Wichita on Sunday, May 6, 2018 at 4:00 p.m.  Honorees in 25 categories will be announced during the ceremony and several of the honorees will perform. Scholarship awards will be presented to three students, lead male and female honorees and a technical theatre recipient. Tickets to the ceremony are $10 each and may be purchased at the door, online at, or by calling the Music Theatre Wichita box office at 316.265.3107.