April 15, 2024

Rose Hill claims first state title in 4A; Six area wrestlers place in top four

Salina, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–Entering Saturday, Rose Hill put themselves in a prime position for their first ever state title. The Rockets would get that with a solid day on Saturday, as they claimed the Class 4A State Championship inside the Tony’s Pizza Events Center. Class 4A for the first time shared the same venue with the Class 4-1A Girls, while it was the first time they shared the same venue with Class 3-2-1A since 1982. 

Rose Hill would get three individula titles, while Tonganoxie was second, with three titles as well. Paola made a surge on Friday to get in the mix with the Chieftains, but ended up in third with two individual titles. Scott City finished seventh overall.

From the area, Scott City had two finalists, but weren’t able to win an individual title, as both Trenton Frank and Houston Frank would place second. Holcomb’s Gregery Martinez was third and finishing fourth was Jaxsen Salinas and Braysen Salinas from Ulysses. 

Team Scores
Rose Hill 157.5; Tonganoxie 127; Paola 119; Clay Center 90; Andale 85.5; Abilene 79; Scott City 68.5; Colby 67; Independence 58.5; Holton 57; Augusta 56; Fort Scott 54; Wamego 54; McPherson 51; Winfield 48.5; Santa Fe Trail 48; Pratt 47; Ottawa 37.5; Baldwin 37; Bishop Miege 37; Ulysses 37; Buhler 27; Mulvane 26.5; Coffeyville 24; Halstead 23; Labette County 20; Frontenac 19; Anderson County 19; Holcomb 19; Louisburg 16; Columbus 14; Marysville 14; Chanute 11; Concordia 9; Hayden 8; Burlington 7; Girard 7; Jefferson West 7; Silver Lake 5; El Dorado 4; Prairie View 4; Hugoton 3.5; Chaparral 3; Smoky Valley 3; Nickerson 3; Rock Creek 3; Atchison 2; Osawatomie 2; Bishop Ward 1, Circle 1; Cheney 0; Clearwater 0; Iola 0; Parsons 0; Wellington 0

Championship: Samson Whitted, Rose Hill, won by fall over Trenton Frank, Scott City, 2:14
3rd Place: Brayden Luinstra, Augusta, won by dec over Tanner Sleichter, Santa Fe Trail, 5-4
5th Place: Tyler Chrisp, Tonganoxie, won by dec over Thayn Phizenmaier, Clay Center, 10-6
Trenton Frank, Scott City

Championship: Ryder Dempewolf, Colby, won by dec over Bryson Rockers, Paola, SV-1 7-5
3rd Place: Mason Gibbons, Independence, won by dec over Trenton Richwine, Rose Hill, 4-2
5th Place: Koehn Dietrich, Mulvane, won by medical forfeit over Storm Rieck, Girard
Championship: Kaiden Powell, Paola, won by dec over Sebastian Bentley, Rose Hill, 2-1
3rd Place: Lucas Batz, Holton, won by dec over Hayden Kalivoda, Clay Center, 4-1
5th Place: Kaeden McCarty, Colby, won by fall over Bryce Combes, Santa Fe Trail, 4:23
Championship: Brock Johnson, Paola, won by maj dec over Murphy Randolph, Abilene, 12-2
3rd Place: Adam Bilby, Rose Hill, won by dec over Talon Suttles, Winfield, 7-3
5th Place: Clayton Considine, Halstead, won by dec over Keith Sanders, Independence, 8-4
Championship: Johnny Leck, Rose Hill, won by dec over Owen Suttles, Winfield, 8-4
3rd Place: Hagen Blanck, Paola, won by dec over Tucker Wark, Colby, 8-5
5th Place: Morgan Brumfield, Clay Center, won by dec over Blake Slavin, Santa Fe Trail, 8-3
Championship: Damon Ingram, Rose Hill, won by fall over Kohen Wright, Independence, 3:36
3rd Place: Gregery Martinez, Holcomb, won by dec over Jaxsen Salinas, Ulysses, 1-0
5th Place: Knox Karnowski, Wamego, won by ofall over Ethan Williams, Baldwin, 1:50
Gregery Martinez, Holcomb

Jaxsen Salinas, Ulysses

Championship: Braeden Moore, Tonganoxie, won by dec over Cruz Hershberger, Buhler, 9-7
3rd Place: Cason Wyrick, Labette County, won by fall over Braysen Salinas, Ulysses, 1:34
5th Place: Cale Hein, Holton, won by dec over Carter Trimble, Marysville, SV-1 4-2
Braysen Salinas, Ulysses

Championship: Noah Bailey, Tonganoxie, won by dec over Jasper Allison, Fort Scott, 5-3
3rd Place: Joseph Welsh, Abilene, won by dec over Thomas McIntyre, Wamego, 8-7
5th Place: Ethan Eck, Andale, won by dec over Blake Winsor, Pratt, 7-2
Championship: Owen Eck, Andale, won by maj dec over Tucker Cell, Abilene, 16-4
3rd Place: Hayden Farley, McPherson, won by fall over Masten Wright, Anderson County, :56
5th Place: Dalton Evans, Ottawa, won by dec over Graham Hawks, Bishop Miege, 4-3
Championship: Taye Wilson, Pratt, won by dec over Clayton Younger, Paola, TB-1 9-2
3rd Place: Brady Martin, Tonganoxie, won by dec over Brody Gomez, Fort Scott, 9-2
5th Place: Kyler Jackson, Holton, won by dec over Talyn Pfizenmaier, Clay Center, 4-0
Championship: Parker Guge, Ottawa, won by dec over Houston Frank, Scott City, 4-3
3rd Place: Ian Aouad, Andale, won by dec over Mason Obanion, Columbus, 7-5
5th Place: Cade Small, Chanute, won by dec over Jase Fitzmorris, McPherson, 10-4
Houston Frank, Scott City

Championship: Tucker Jackson, Clay Center, won by dec over Jack Harvey, Baldwin, 1-0
3rd Place: Isaiah Wilson, Andale, won by dec over Ashton Moore, Baldwin, 5-4
5th Place: Colton Brusven, Tonganoxie, won by dec over Mack Morin, Winfield, 6-0
Championship: Tyler Pankey, Tonganoxie, won by dec ove Dalton Roush, Holton, 4-0
3rd Place: Jake Meyer, Wamego, won by fall over Tanner Gooden, Scott City, 4:18
5th Place: Cole Rogers, Rose Hill, won by dec over Ethan Tiers, Clay Center, 7-3
Tanner Gooden, Scott City


Championship: Baker North, Bishop Miege, won by fall over Willy Jon Morales, Augusta, 2:21
3rd Place: Kainen White, Coffeyville, won by dec over Jaden Garcia, Fort Scott, 2-0
5th Place: Connor Herman, Halstead, won by dec over Jacob Hanback, Abilene, 2-0

Scott City Coach Dakota Hayes