April 15, 2024

Hoxie claims 4th straight 3-2-1A title; Wichita County’s Gardner runner-up

Salina, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–In the final day of the Class 3-2-1A State Wrestling Tournament in Salina, the team title had all but been decided. Hoxie built a commanding lead, and picked up its fourth conseuctive Class 3-2-1A State Championship inside the Tony’s Pizza Events Center, in front of a capacity crowd.

The Indians were 61.5 points better than runner-up Norton, who held off a surge over the past two days from Sabetha, who placed third. The Bluejays of Sabetha would fend off Phillipsburg for third place. 

Hoxie would claim four individual titles in the finals, and Norton picked up two. 

Wichita County’s Wyatt Gardner found himself in his third consecutive state championship match. He would fall in the ultimate tiebreaker 3-2 to finish second. Gardner was the lone area medalist in Class 3-2-1A.

Team Scores
Hoxie 169.5; Norton 107; Sabetha 96.5; Phillipsburg 92; Atchison County 83; Russell 65.5; Nemaha Central 63; Minneapolis 62; Smith Center 61; Hill City 56; Hoisington 54; Council Grove 44; Beloit 43; Jayhawk Linn 42; Larned 36.5; Burlingame 36; Haven 35.5; West Elk 34; Lyons 33; Bluestem 29.5; Ellis 27; Republic County 26; Oakley 24; Quinter 24; Garden Plain 23; Wichita County 23; Douglass 22; Rossville 22; Oberlin 21; St. Francis 21; Humboldt 18; Herington 17; Plainville 17; Southeast of Saline 16; Chase County 15; Maur Hill Mount Academy 14; Ellsworth 14; Onaga 13; Riley County 13; Erie 12; Cimarron 10; Kingman 10;  Northern Heights 9; Caney Valley 8; Rawlins County 8; Marion 7; Remington 7; Cherryvale 6; Ellinwood 6; Trego 6; Fredonia 5.5; Burden-Central 4; Pleasant Ridge 4; Central Heights 4; Sylvan-Lucas 4; Hillsboro 4; Royal Valley 3; McLouth 3; Osborne 3; Cair Paravel 2; Canton-Galva 0; Lakeside 0; Eureka 0; TMP Marian 0; Riverside 0; St. Marys 0; Stafford 0; Uniontown 0; Wabaunsee 0

Final Results
Championship: Kale Keiswetter, Norton, won by dec over Tate Blackwill, Quinter, 2-1
3rd Place: Xzephren Donner, Russell, won by fall over Harry Langill, Nemaha Central, 3:36
5th Place: Chase Courtois, Burlingame, won by medical forfeit over Landon Higgins, Jayhawk Linn
Championship: Brogan Monty, Beloit, won by fall over Keaton Rottinghaus, Nemaha Central, 3:26
3rd Place: Kash Schiltz, Hoxie, won by dec voer Derek Clydesdale, Norton, 5-1
5th Place: Alexander Hamel, Hill City, won by maj dec over AJ Almanza, Lyons, 11-0
Championship: Ian Giancola, Hoxie, won by dec over Chase Johnson, Minneapolis, 1-0
3rd Place: Denton White, Jayhawk Linn, won by maj dec over Bradley Doornbos, Council Grove, 9-1
5th Place: Axton Vice, Bluestem, won by fall over Jaxson Vice, Maur Hill Mount Academy, :54
Championship: Kaden Sisson, Phillipsburg, won by dec over Jatin Weigel, Norton, 3-0
3rd Place: Carter Krier, Oakley, won by dec over Brayton Peters, Minneapolis, 8-3
5th Place: Jacob Moore, Haven, won by dec over Chase Meyer, Hoxie, 7-3
Championship: Carson Ochs, Hoxie, won by fall over Shane Todd, St. Francis, 3:18
3rd Place: Logon Courtois, Burlingame, won by fall over Will Donley, Ellsworth, 2:54
5th Place: Cullen Wikle, Sabetha, won by fall over Landen Kmiec, Erie, 1:50
Championship: Josiah Ball, Hoisington, won by maj dec over Lukas Zodrow, Oberlin, 9-1
3rd Place: Blake Buresh, Phillipsburg, won by dec over Austin Smith, Atchison County, 3-1
5th Place: Landon Koelling, Onaga, won by dec over Reid Griffiths, Herington, 4-2
Championship: Mason Younger, Ellis, won by dec over Dustin Loughrie, Haven, 3-1
3rd Place: Seth Keeten, Phillipsburg, won by fall over Kaden Gutsch, Riley County, :45
5th Place: Brennen Pfannenstiel, Norton won by fall over Owen Weatherhead, Republic County, 3:40
Championship: Colin Menold, Sabetha, won by dec over Wyatt Gardner, Wichita County, UTB 3-2
3rd Place: Braylon Smith, Minneapolis, won by fall over Cole Keeten, Phillipsburg, 4:21
5th Place: Max Bottorff, Atchison County, won by dec over Cameron Svitak, Herington, 7-0
Wyatt Gardner, Wichita County

Championship: Duncan Bell, Hoxie, won by dec over Easton Schletzbaum, Atchison County, 4-1
3rd Place: Dayton Stephen, Hill City, won by dec over Andres Flores, Jayhawk Linn, SV-1 7-5
5th Place: Nate Dold, Lyons, won by dec over Cole Hinton, Sabetha, 8-4
Championship: Creyo Koop, West Elk, won by maj dec over Teagen Pfeifer, Russell, 12-2
3rd Place: Easton Nickelson, Hoxie, won by fall over Abram Keim, Nemaha Central, 3:53
5th Place: Alex Dyke, Republic County, won by tech fall over Brayden Meredith, Sabetha, 17-1
Championship: Aiden Amrein, Hill City, won by dec over Gage Lee, Garden Plain, 6-3
3rd Place: Brayden Suchy, Russell, won by fall over Teron Kraft, Hoisington, 1:50
5th Place: Cole Mathes, Humboldt, won by fall over Elijah Webb, Atchison County
Championship: Sam Watkins, Hoxie, won by dec over Carter Green, Douglass, SV-1 5-3
3rd Place: Ace Monihen, Council Grove, won by dec over Luke Franklin, Smith Center, 3-1
5th Place: Micah Cauthers, Chase County, won by fall over Dalton Rokey, Sabetha, 2:36
Championship: Luke Fischer, Larned, won by tech fall over Barret Lietz, Rossville, 15-0
3rd Place: Eli Franklin, Smith Center, won by dec over Vincent Webb, Atchison County, 11-4
5th Place: Brodie Boudreaux, Beloit, won by fall over Brian Nguyen, Marion, 2:25
Championship: Corbin Puga, Norton, won by dec over Kharson Montgomery, Smith Center, 7-2
3rd Place: Gavin Schippers, Hoxie, won by dec over Joshua Grimm, Sabetha, 1-0
5th Place: Mason Hogan, Plainville, won by fall over Brody Chambers, Southeast of Saline, 2:40